The COEDC has a 40+ member advisory body including key industry leaders representing various sectors including: Aerospace, Agriculture, Manufacturing, Healthcare, Professional Services, Development, Technology and Tourism. The Advisory Board acts as a conduit of community and business information; this information provides staff the ability to identify tactics and partnerships in order to facilitate a healthy, dynamic and sustainable community economy.

New members are highlighted in green.

Directors Representing Industry Sectors

  • Jeremy Burgess Pushor Mitchell LLP, Lawyer, Professional Services/Law
  • Scott Butler Highstreet Ventures, President Construction/Development
  • James Calissi Calissi Farms, Owner Agriculture
  • Mike Checkley QHR Technologies, President & CEO Health Care/Technology
  • Terry Edwards Decisive Dividend Corporation, Director & COO Professional Services/Manufacturing
  • Alex Greer Adaptive Ventures Inc., Founder and Principal Technology/Manufacturing
  • Lynn Heinrich Sun-Rype, Business Dev. & Marketing Mgr USA Manufacturing/Communications
  • Sharon Hughes-Geekie Bayshore Home Health, Area Director BC Interior Health Care
  • Keith Inman Pushor Mitchell LLP, Lawyer Professional Services/Law
  • Peter Jeffrey Okanagan Peer Mentoring Group, President Manufacturing
  • Dr. Douglas Kingsford Interior Health, CMIO & EMD Health Care
  • Brad Klassen Troika Management Group, CFO Construction/Development
  • Chris Lapointe North Sands Logistics, Principal Aerospace
  • Janice Larson Muse&Effect Consulting Professional Services/Life Sciences
  • David McDougall Blenz Coffee, Founder and Principal Small Business / Manufacturing
  • Karen Olsson Atomic47 Labs, CEO Technology
  • Aura Rose House of Rose Winery Agriculture
  • Michael Zuk RBC Dominion Securities Professional Services/Financial Svc

Local Government Appointees

  • District of Lake Country, Councillor Cara Reed (Alternate Bill Scarrow)
  • City of Kelowna, Councillor Ryan Donn (Alternate Mohini Singh)
  • Westbank First Nation, Councillor Fernanda Alexander (Alternate Tom Konek)
  • City of West Kelowna, Councillor Jayson Zilkie
  • District of Peachland, Councillor Mike Kent
  • Regional District of Central Okanagan, Central Okanagan East Director Mark Bartyik

Directors Representing Local Government Economic Development

  • BC Ministry of Forests, Lands, Natural Resource Operations, and Rural Development - Regional Manager Thompson Okanagan Region, Myles Bruns
  • District of Lake Country - Manager Community Systems,Jamie McEwan
  • City of Kelowna - Director of Business & Entrepreneurial Development, Robert Fine
  • Westbank First Nation - Manager of Economic Development, Mandi Carroll
  • City of West Kelowna - Economic Development Officer, John Perrott
  • District of Peachland - Planning/Economic Development Technician, Matt Faucher

Directors Representing Partner Organizations

  • Accelerate Okanagan - Raghwa Gopal, CEO (Alternate Brea Lake, Operations Manager)
  • Business Development Bank of Canada - Steve North, Business Centre Manager
  • Community Futures of the Central Okanagan - Larry Widmer, Manager
  • Greater Westside Board of Trade - Calvin Barr, Vice-President (Alt Craig Garries, President)
  • Kelowna Chamber of Commerce - Carmen Sparg, President (Alt Dan Rogers, Executive Director)
  • Kelowna International Airport - Sam Samaddar, Airport Director
  • Lake Country Chamber of Commerce - Holger Nierfeld, Vice-President
  • Okanagan Centre for Innovation - Kelsey Helm, Director at Wheelhouse
  • Okanagan College - Phil Ashman, Central Okanagan Regional Dean
  • Peachland Chamber of Commerce - Greg Sewell, Director (Alt -Patrick Van Minsel, Manager)
  • Tourism Kelowna - Jennifer Horsnell, Director of Bus Devl (Alt Thom Killingsworth)
  • University of British Columbia-Okanagan - Phil Barker, Vice-Principal Research Okanagan
  • University of British Columbia-Okanagan - Nicole Udzenija, Director – Campus Initiatives
  • Women’s Enterprise Centre - Laurel Douglas, CEO (Alternate, Sandra Bird)

The Economic Development Commission Executive

  • Lynn Heinrich, Chair
  • Brad Klassen, Vice-Chair
  • David McDougall, Past Chair
  • Mike Checkley
  • Alex Greer
  • Raghwa Gopal
  • Terry Edwards
  • Aura Rose

Further information about the COEDC and its programs can be found on the COEDC website at